Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Having An FPS Issue... Help?

  1. #1
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default Having An FPS Issue... Help?

    So I've been playing on the PC client for windows for 2 years now and everything has ALWAYS been super smooth until now...
    I really have no idea what's causing it, but my FPS stays at 60 for about 5-10 minutes.
    Then the longer i play, the game gets laggier and laggier, worst It's got to is 7-15FPS...
    I can temporarily fix this by running CCleaner and clearing all caches etc, but that's not good enough, I need a permanent fix.

    As i said, I've never had this issue before, and i know for sure It's nothing to do with my PC hardware.
    I can go play GTA V right now with all graphics set on high and keep a constant 45-60FPS, and most other games I play run at a constant 60FPS.
    So i really don't understand what's happening with Growtopia, and I'm hoping somebody knows what my problem is?

    PC Specs:

    OS - Windows 10
    RAM - 8GB
    CPU - FX6300 6 Core 3.5GHZ
    GPU - R7260X 2GB

    I also have Growtopia running from my SSD so there should 100% no problem with running the game at a constant 60FPS.

    Would really appreciate if anybody can help, thanks!
    Last edited by OneEye; 10-26-2015 at 05:49 PM.
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    how do i add location?
    Posts
    872

    Default

    there is to much ram running in the background.

  3. #3
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whalehorn View Post
    there is to much ram running in the background.
    What do you mean by this?
    Whiles playing GT and streaming music from YouTube only 28% of my RAM is being used, and only 23% of my CPU get used too.
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  4. #4
    Master Sorcerer Deno855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    Is it like really laggy and u drop frames then it goes back too normal
    Not sure why I'm back but I'm back
    IGN: Deno855
    TRUE OG
    Level: 64
    Gems: 263k / 1mil
    WLS: Who even cares its the effort
    Instagram: @deno855_gt

  5. #5
    Master Sorcerer Rawrzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    PH
    Posts
    713

    Default

    If you're using Google Chrome as a browser, DON'T use it anymore.
    Chrome has a bad habit of eating away your RAM while it still open, also it has a background processes hidden.
    Also, Try defragmenting your PC to speed up processes.
    Move your GT to drive D:// if you have.
    Drive C:// must be also not at max capacity to keep thing running smoother.

  6. #6
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deno855 View Post
    Is it like really laggy and u drop frames then it goes back too normal
    No, the longer I play, the lower the FPS seems to get.
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  7. #7
    Master Sorcerer Deno855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawrzi View Post
    If you're using Google Chrome as a browser, DON'T use it anymore.
    Chrome has a bad habit of eating away your RAM while it still open, also it has a background processes hidden.
    Also, Try defragmenting your PC to speed up processes.
    Move your GT to drive D:// if you have.
    Drive C:// must be also not at max capacity to keep thing running smoother.
    When i have chrome open and gt yea it lags but its ok

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by OneEye View Post
    No, the longer I play, the lower the FPS seems to get.
    Reinstall gt
    Not sure why I'm back but I'm back
    IGN: Deno855
    TRUE OG
    Level: 64
    Gems: 263k / 1mil
    WLS: Who even cares its the effort
    Instagram: @deno855_gt

  8. #8
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawrzi View Post
    If you're using Google Chrome as a browser, DON'T use it anymore.
    Chrome has a bad habit of eating away your RAM while it still open, also it has a background processes hidden.
    Also, Try defragmenting your PC to speed up processes.
    Move your GT to drive D:// if you have.
    Drive C:// must be also not at max capacity to keep thing running smoother.
    I use Mozilla Firefox, Chrome sucks.
    And moving Growtopia to drive D:// makes no sense... That's my storage drive and it's a HDD.
    I have Growtopia on my SSD which is drive C:// because SSD's have a MUCH faster read/write speed to deliver better performance.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Deno855 View Post
    When i have chrome open and gt yea it lags but its ok

    - - - Updated - - -


    Reinstall gt
    Same issue happens, tried this already.
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    how do i add location?
    Posts
    872

    Default

    i had the same problem. i just closed the programs running in the background and deleted the virus protection that came with my pc.

  10. #10
    Master Sorcerer Deno855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    When did it start happening?
    Not sure why I'm back but I'm back
    IGN: Deno855
    TRUE OG
    Level: 64
    Gems: 263k / 1mil
    WLS: Who even cares its the effort
    Instagram: @deno855_gt

  11. #11
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deno855 View Post
    When did it start happening?
    Last week...
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  12. #12
    Master Sorcerer Rawrzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    PH
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Then here's my possible solutions
    » Defragmentation
    » Scan your PC for malware or viruses (worms are quite common but makes your PC a snail)
    » Stop running scans by your antivirus / better yet disable it for awhile to check if theres improvement
    » Remove unwanted background programs (skype/spotify/MSN/etc) or stop them from autorunning.
    » Keep GT on window mode
    » or its the imcompatibility of the program since Win10 is quite new and some programs need to be tweaked for it yet.
    » Uninstall the latest System update. (since it only started last week)

    hope this helps

  13. #13
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawrzi View Post
    If you're using Google Chrome as a browser, DON'T use it anymore.
    Chrome has a bad habit of eating away your RAM while it still open, also it has a background processes hidden.
    Also, Try defragmenting your PC to speed up processes.
    Move your GT to drive D:// if you have.
    Drive C:// must be also not at max capacity to keep thing running smoother.
    My drives are both showing a good status, they get analyzed automatically each week so none of them require defragmentation.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawrzi View Post
    Then here's my possible solutions
    » Defragmentation
    » Scan your PC for malware or viruses (worms are quite common but makes your PC a snail)
    » Stop running scans by your antivirus / better yet disable it for awhile to check if theres improvement
    » Remove unwanted background programs (skype/spotify/MSN/etc) or stop them from autorunning.
    » Keep GT on window mode
    » or its the imcompatibility of the program since Win10 is quite new and some programs need to be tweaked for it yet.
    » Uninstall the latest System update. (since it only started last week)

    hope this helps
    None of this would help...
    I don't use any antivirus software as it's not needed, if i had any malware i think I'd know about it...
    My PC is good enough to run MANY things at once so closing background processes is pointless...
    Only 25% of both my RAM + CPU are being used.
    And I've tried running GT in compatibility modes.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I also think Seth should consider Optimizing the game to run on more than just 1 CPU core, that would help out people running lower end PC's A LOT.
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

  14. #14
    Master Sorcerer Deno855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OneEye View Post
    My drives are both showing a good status, they get analyzed automatically each week so none of them require defragmentation.

    - - - Updated - - -



    None of this would help...
    I don't use any antivirus software as it's not needed, if i had any malware i think I'd know about it...
    My PC is good enough to run MANY things at once so closing background processes is pointless...
    Only 25% of both my RAM + CPU are being used.
    And I've tried running GT in compatibility modes.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I also think Seth should consider Optimizing the game to run on more than just 1 CPU core, that would help out people running lower end PC's A LOT.
    Email em? Maybe they can help
    Not sure why I'm back but I'm back
    IGN: Deno855
    TRUE OG
    Level: 64
    Gems: 263k / 1mil
    WLS: Who even cares its the effort
    Instagram: @deno855_gt

  15. #15
    Lesser Wizard Ukuzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Gliese-581
    Posts
    370

    Default

    Update your GL drivers, worked for me last time.

    Ps: That's a weird cpu name

  16. #16
    Master Sorcerer champsweet16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in North Dakota,USA
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Get a new computer :3 ( sorry i know absolutely 0 about computers )
    "Never argue with stupid people, they will pull you down to their level and then beat you with experience."-Mark Twain

    Sincerely,
    iChamps
    Level-73

  17. #17
    Master Sorcerer OneEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ukuzz View Post
    Update your GL drivers, worked for me last time.

    Ps: That's a weird cpu name
    No, It's part of the the AMD FX Series.
    I'm gonna upgrade to the FX9590 soon (8 core 4.7GHZ).

    And my drivers are all up to date...

    Also, after messing around with dozens of settings, I ''Might'' of fixed it but it may still occur. Seems okay for now though...
    Remember: Don't Ever Play Or Host A Drop Game!!!

    Checkout My Latest YouTube Video!





    Click The image Below To Subscribe To My Channel!
    http://zachrip.net/ytsig.php?username=OneEyeGrowtopia
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE! SUBSCRIBE![/TD]

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •